Passports & Visas

This section is a general guide to passport and visa requirements throughout Europe. It is strongly advised you visit your country’s government website to confirm regulations.

If you are a citizen of USA, Canada, New Zealand, Australia, or Japan, you most likely do not need a visa for the following countries. However, it is recommended you carry a valid passport which can be stamped at point of entry to avoid any problems during your visit.

AustriaBelgiumBosniaBulgariaCroatiaCzech Republic
SlovakiaSloveniaSpainSwedenSwitzerlandUnited Kingdom

The above countries are part of the Schengen region, which allows free movement of citizens within its borders with valid documentation.

American citizens travelling to Europe do not require a visa for a visit up to 90 days. American citizens travelling to Turkey or Russia must obtain a visa.

In the non-Schengen regions, several countries do not require a visa for a visit less than 90 days. However, there may be different eligibility requirements. For example, entry in Ukraine requires an American passport to be valid for at least 6 months beyond the point of entry.

If you are planning for longer-term travel, you may be required to obtain a residence permit. Contact the embassy in the country you are staying in, well in advance of arrival to ensure you have enough time to get paperwork processed.

Again, you should always visit your government’s travel website prior to leaving. You want to make sure that regulations and passport requirements have not changed, as well as any safety advice or warnings in the countries you are travelling too.


 Costs of traveling through Europe